Excerpt: When Angels Fly

May 29, 1990 – Tuesday

I hardly slept much last night as many things kept running through my head. I almost did not get away from the “Lion’s Den” (Henry’s) last night. One of the things Henry said was that I had to take Noah back to him today so that he could have him the rest of the week. That was pure bull. He knew I didn’t want Noah around my mother if I could prevent it from happening.

Today was going to be a busy day and it had barely started. I phoned Hannah with updates then I tried to reach Judge Sterling. He was not having his usual morning coffee yet. I phoned EU and spoke with Marci, Eli’s nurse, and with Eli. Marci and Eli knew I would be back sometime today. Eli albeit barely a boy understood that I must protect Noah the best I could. Eli knew this was why I came to Durango – so that I could keep Noah out of my mother’s clutches this summer. Eli understood that I was trying to ensure his brother stayed cared for at Hannah’s. Eli also wanted me back with him, but he told me he also wanted, in his own words, “brother safe.” It broke my heart that Eli at age five years already knew so much about the bad things in life. Were my boys robbed of their childhood by Henry and my mother?

Judge Sterling was still not with the guys drinking coffee yet so I called his home and finally reached him and informed him of what was going on. Then I spoke with Lawyer Shlock, lawyer with my lawyer, Mr. Troy, about Henry’s recent demands. We were going to get legal papers drawn up, signed and delivered. I called Hannah so she would be aware and be home.  I called SRS for Zoe Penson so that SRS would know what we were trying to legally do for Noah. Lawyer Shlock was going to dig up an order signed by a judge previously; and then I woke up Noah and fed him breakfast. Afterwards Noah and I went to Shlock’s law office, and then we went to the courthouse with the court order Mr. Shlock found. The Clerk of the District Court for Durango County received one copy of the court order. Another copy went to the Durango Sheriff office, one to the SRS in Durango, and one copy to Hannah. Then I called Henry at home and I informed him that he would have to adhere to the original court order. The man went ballistic so I hung up. My mission was accomplished – Noah would have Hannah for the summer, or as long as I was at EU with Eli.

Noah and I headed over to Hannah’s house and my son told me that while his father was at the Ronald McDonald House, Noah and Uncle Gavin were left with Eli. Then my son told me that “something” happened yesterday and that Gavin grabbed both of Noah’s wrists and threw him into a corner of Eli’s room. I looked at my son’s wrists and saw that Gavin had left bruises. I was livid. What could a little child do to cause him to be thrown into a corner?  We were almost to Hannah’s house and Noah simply told me that Gavin said to say “that Matt spanked him” even though Matt never did.  Only God knew how much I hated Gavin right now.

At Hannah’s I looked over my son for further bruising and found none. I told Noah that Mama would make things right and then I headed for EU after informing the county attorney, Ethan Reynolds, of what had happened. Ethan said something would be done about this abuse and that I had to make out a complaint at EU since it happened at EU.

I arrived at EU around 2:30 PM and went straight to Eli’s room. I gave Eli a big hug and kissed his head. Eli smiled and I just beamed back at him. Eli informed me that he had received two radiations today. I took Eli to the eye clinic and they said Eli’s right eye was getting better again, that it looked almost healed. On the way back to his room Eli told me he had not had a bath yet, so when we got back, I gave him one. I then took care of his right eye medication and the radiation burn areas on his head, neck, and chest. Eli liked having Mama back. Later in the evening Hannah phoned and she told me to check with SRS and Zoe Penson about “mental abuse” as she felt Noah was being mentally abused by his father and Gavin. Hannah hoped that something could be done in this area, too, for Noah’s sake. I looked at Eli’s labs. Eli had 20 Segs plus zero Bands times WBC of 0.3 equalled ANC of 60. Good thing my mask was on. I wondered if Henry and Gavin ever wore a mask. I doubted it. Eli’s HGB was 9.1 and Platelets were 20,000 yesterday and so Eli received a platelet transfusion today. On re-check Eli’s platelet count was 46,000.

Hannah phoned at 7:30 PM and told me that Henry was demanding to take Noah from 9 AM to 9 PM Wednesday through Saturday. The man was nuts if he thought I would allow that to happen. I called Henry and told him his demands would not be met and hung up. I phoned Matt and told him what Noah had told me. Matt was angry and he wanted to talk with Gavin so I gave him the phone number, but Gavin was not there. Matt spoke with Riley instead and then he called me back. Matt wanted to know how to protect everyone including himself and I told him to go and talk with the county attorney and see what he had to say. I slept restlessly.

 

Leave a Reply

