Author Interview With Jen Selinsky

16118587_1299761966761082_116728164_n

Today I’m glad to present Jen Selinsky, whose book ‘Bunny’s Song‘ I will add to this interview at a later date.   

Hello Jen, and welcome to my blog.

Please tell my readers, how did you come to writing?

I always had a vivid imagination, especially as a child.  I started writing a little at the age of twelve, but I did not really take it seriously until I was fifteen.  After that, it slowly started to become a big part of my life, and I can’t imagine myself doing anything else!

How did you come up with your stories?

Some of my ideas come to me late at night, when I am trying to sleep.  Music and literature, however, are two of my greatest sources of inspiration.

Is there a message in your novels you would like your readers to grasp?

It all depends on the stories.  One important theme in some of my material is God’s infinite love for all of us!

You have created great characters. Which one is your favorite?

Two of my favorites are Kate and Steve from Springtime in London – a rock ‘n’ roll romance set in early 1970s England.  Since I am fascinated with the setting and British rock from that era, it’s only logical that Kate and Steve are two of my favorites.

How much of your books are realistic? Are the experiences based on someone you know or events in your life?

Many of my books are realistic, especially my four novels.  My short stories, and novelettes, however, are a bit of a different story.  Some contain more supernatural and surreal elements.

Who would you cast to play the characters in a movie?

That’s a tough one.  While I have thought about movie adaptations for some of my books, I never thought of who would play any of my characters.  I will have to give it more thought if I ever sign off on a movie deal!

Are you like any of the characters (and how so)?

I am like many of my characters, especially those who are writers and are not afraid to have an opinion which might differ from popular belief.

Were the plot and subplots completely planned from the start or did they change during the process, and if so, how?

I have never really made physical outlines of my works, but I have thought things out in my head.  For the most part, my works stay the same as I had originally planned them.  But, every now and then, I will add an extra twist.

What is your main reason for writing?

I write mostly because I enjoy it.  There were several times when I tried to quit, but I always came back to it after a few weeks or months.  The longest I ever went without writing was about seven months, but it returned with a vengeance!

What are the best and the worst aspects of writing?

The best aspects are the finished products and positive feedback and reviews which I earn from all my hard work.  The worst aspect is the revisions.  No matter how many times I go through my books, I always find something I don’t like—something which I think needs to be changed.

Please share a little of your current work in progress or ideas for your next novel?

Wow.  There are so many things which I am currently working on.  The one which I am most looking forward to, however, is Runaway Choo Choo, which will be published by Pen It! Publications.  This will be my second children’s book released by Pen It!, and I am very excited!

How do you balance marketing one book and writing the next?

It’s a very difficult struggle to balance both.  When I get overwhelmed with my writing and revisions, I tend to switch gears and move into marketing. 

What do you do when you don’t write?

I like to exercise, draw, and listen to music.  Since I only work part-time at my regular job now, I can focus on these other things for which I didn’t have nearly as much time before. 

Who are your editors and how do you quality control your books?

My first 160 books are self-published, as will be some of the others on which I’m working.  Pen It! Publications has a staff of editors who work for them, so I do not have to worry about my children’s books.  That’s the advantage of having your works traditionally published!

How have you found the experience of self-publishing? What were your highs and lows?

I have an overall positive experience with self-publishing through Amazon, Lulu, and Smashwords.  The only difficult thing is marketing and making others aware of what materials I have out there.  Of course, editing and revising, including cover artwork, can be difficult if you haven’t paid for any professional services, but I am grateful for the fact that I can edit my books as many times as I want!

What do you like best about writing? What’s your least favourite thing?

I like the fact that I seem to get inspiration from many different sources, but I like least the fact that I have a difficult time getting things on paper, so to speak.  

What is your advice to new indie writers?

My advice is to keep persevering, no matter what criticism you receive.  My first self-published book came out in 2001 on CreateSpace (then GreatUnpublished), and my first self-published Lulu book came out in 2005.  Since then, I’ve published over 160 books.  (Most of those are poetry books.)  It took me over ten years to reach my goals, but all the time and preparation has been worth it.  And while I have yet to achieve all that I want to as a writer, I must keep going. If you keep going, then you will have many opportunities present themselves to you!

Who are your favorite independent writers?

Wow.  There are so many that it would be impossible to list them all, but I can give you a few: Bert Murray, Regina Puckett, Brenda Drexler, Moriah D’Amico, Chris James, Ann Swann, Scott Spoonnmore, Grace Click, and Angie McPherson.

Who are your favorite authors and what is your favorite book?

Janet Evanovich, Victor Hugo, Mark Twain, Sylvia Plath, Emily Dickinson are some of my favorite authors.  Les Miséserables is one of my favorite books, even though I’ve only read it twice, due to its size.

What books or authors have influenced you the most? Is there a writer that you consider a mentor? Do you have a favorite?

A lot of the writers who have influenced me the most are actually songwriters, such as: Jim Morrison, Steve Hackett, Peter Gabriel, Simon LeBon, Roger Waters, John Lennon, Paul McCartney, and a few others.  Classic rock is my favorite genre of music, and Peter Gabriel is my favorite musician.  His work is absolutely brilliant!

What book are you currently reading and in what format (e-book/paperback/hardcover)?

One book which I am currently reading is Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers who Changed the World by Rachel Ignotofsky. I borrowed the book from the library a few months ago, but I liked it so much that I decided to purchase my own hardback copy!

Do you work with an outline or do you just write?

For the most part, I just write.  The only book for which I’ve made a physical outline is my novella, Generation Z. 

What makes you laugh?

I have a good sense of humor, so it doesn’t take much to make me laugh.  Movie comedies are the quickest way to my funny bone.  I also like TV sitcoms and Britcoms (Monty Python and the like.).  I’ve also been known to hoot and holler over funny books as well. 

What (not who) would you like to take to a lonely island?

I would have to have my laptop so I can do everything I want to online!

Who would you like to invite for dinner?

Peter Gabriel and/or Steve Hackett!  (Genesis is my favorite band!)

What would your friends say are your best and your oddest quality?

Some would say that my best quality is my loyalty and perseverance.  Others would say that my sense of humor is quite odd.  As I have said before, it doesn’t take much to make me laugh!

Tell us about your other books?

Well, I have published over 160 books, so the best way to know about them is to read their descriptions.  I don’t limit myself to one genre; I like to think that my work is versatile.

How do you handle criticism of your work?

Criticism really used to bother me, but as I have progressed in my writing, I find that it’s absolutely crucial sometimes.  As an author, it’s important to know that writing is very subjective; you can’t please all your readers all the time.

Author Bio:

Jen Selinsky was born in Pittsburgh, PA.  In 2003, she earned her bachelor’s degree in English from Clarion University of Pennsylvania.  In 2004, she earned her master’s degree in library science from the same school.  Jen has worked as a professional librarian for over eleven years.  She has published more than 160 books, many of which contain poetry.  Her work can be found on the following sites: Lulu, Amazon, iTunes, Kobo, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords, Pen It! Publications, and Buy Me Books Now.  She has also been featured in publications such as: The Courier Journal, Explorer Magazine, Liphar Magazine, and Indiana Libraries.  Jen lives in Sellersburg, IN with her husband.

Links to Social Media:

Jen’s Amazon Page     Jen’s Facebook Author Page     

Jen’s Facebook Personal Page      Jen’s Twitter Page

Jen’s Instagram Page     Jen’s Pinterest Page

Jen’s Goodreads Page     Jen’s Good Reads     Jen’s Favorite Authors

My Book Links: 

Lulu     Amazon     Barnes & Noble     Kobo     iTunes     Smashwords

Other:

Bunny’s Song can also be found on Pen It! Publications and Buy Me Books Now.  You can also search the store by genre to find my other books.  One can click on the Bookstore link for Buy Me Books Now to find some of my other books.  Books purchased through this store can be signed and personalized for customers.

 

Most of my titles can be found on Lulu

2 thoughts on “Author Interview With Jen Selinsky

Leave a Reply

