Why we still love the classic children’s books #amreading

G.L. Cromarty

A book is a magic carpet that flies you off elsewhere.

A book is a door. You open it. You step through it.

~Jeanette Winterson

I make a point of trying to read a couple of classic children’s books each year.  When I was little I adored the ladybird books. I still know some of the verses, which shows how many times I read them! The thing that always amuses me when I re-read classic children’s books is how unhappy, or just plain macabre, some of them were.

the runawayI will give you an example of my absolute favourite ladybird book, The Runaway. Fundamentally this is a terrible tale of a bored pet bunny who longs for freedom, escapes, has some marginal level of fun, realises it’s pretty scary outside his cage, and heads back home only to find out that he has been replaced by a new bunny!

And I loved it!

Read…

View original post 105 more words

Leave a Reply

