The Idea Mill – Guest Post by Craig Boyack…

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

img_0236

Craig Boyack here, with another post on the Storyreading Ape’s blog. This is my eighth post here, and the assignment gets more difficult with each post. “Write something without going down the buy my book path.” It’s a great test, and I’m always up for a challenge.

I’m writing this early in the morning on Christmas Eve. I may actually have a new book out by now, but don’t dare write about it today. My topic is going to be speculative fiction.

In the writing world, there are more definitions for every term than are helpful. Look up word counts for short stories as an example. In most cases, I look to the definitions as guidelines and make up my own parameters. Speculative fiction is like that. For me, it involves at least one impossible element.

You can look to broad categories like science fiction, fantasy, and paranormal, or you…

View original post 474 more words

2 thoughts on “The Idea Mill – Guest Post by Craig Boyack…

Leave a Reply

