Nightmares

UseAsLayerTwoSamWithWingsMustMistOrFeatherImageAfterPlacementAndMakePartialTransparent

Nightmares

Nightmares ~ are they real? If so, how close to reality? What is reality in a nightmare? What do they mean?

This is about true nightmares and not déjà vu. (That’s a whole different story.)

I had a nightmare last night, in color, vivid, vibrant, you name it and it was there in my dream. I was awake and running after my boys, trying to save them from something in my peripheral, an evil I couldn’t really see, yet I knew it was there and real. The closer I got to my boys, the further away they were from me. Both boys were running as hard as they could, and I saw on their faces sheer terror, which terrified me further. I wasn’t able to save them and I don’t know what happened to them. Never did I fully awake from this nightmare, either. I was shaken to my very innermost core.

What is the significance of my nightmare? Any guesses? In working on my memoir in the past, I never once had a nightmare such as this one, and I hope I never have another one.

Thoughts are appreciated.

© Mary Schmidt 10 May 2017

6 thoughts on “Nightmares

  1. What a horrible nightmare. I can only imagine, especially when it involves your children. I wish I had the answer but do not. I know they say dreams are usually dealing with something subconscious. I’d ask are you worried about the world and what effect that will have on your children? Is one of them struggling with something? Things like that since it was something that was endangering them but you can’t save them from. That would be my totally uneducated place to start. If you figure it out, let us know 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

