Milele Safari: An Eternal Journey by Jan Hawke

ms14j2017

Milele Safari: An Eternal Journey by Jan Hawke

My review follows Hawke’s book blurb found on Amazon.

“Milele Safari – An Eternal Journey …twines around a single day, in an unremarkable border village that snuffs out the lives of four people and shatters many others, only to draw the survivors back to a different time and, perhaps, a hope of atonement and peace. Step out on the journey and discover an Africa that could have been, is and might one day come to be.

This book deals with strong adult themes, including genocide and war rape. It is therefore NOT suitable for persons under the age of 18, or of a sensitive disposition.”

From the beginning, this book was intriguing. I must admit that I was at a loss (book started out from a human point of view) when suddenly a leopard took center stage and the point of view switched from a human to an animal. Next thing I knew the point of view was from a safari driver who knew he would bring his group back to the kill site of the leopard and her cubs. Until now, I had never read a book such as to the likes of this one, and I find this highly unusual. For those readers who thrive on stories that come from a zillion different points of view and time, then this is a book for you! For me it was confusing with all the different points in time and points of view. This is an adult read for sure, and Hawke does have an interesting way of writing. For me, having suffered a head injury, I found the story line quite difficult and had to put the book down due to receiving a headache in the process. I could only read parts at a time as I was so lost in the story line.  The back has a reference section for African words and with the eBook (the version I read) you could click a link and see what each word meant. This was hard for me to read this way and I think a reader would do much better with a paperback version. Hawke wrote an extremely well-written book, great imagery, and depth. Heads Up: If you suffer from a brain injury in the past, this book is not for you. I give three stars due to the issues of no warning for those with brain injuries and how hard it was to follow.

 

Leave a Reply

